Open menu Close menu Open Search Close search
Support Our Sponsor
. . Flags of the World Maps of All Countries

  • |SEARCH|
  • |Main INDEX|
  • 2005 INDEX
  • Country Ranks

    French Polynesia Index 2005

    French Polynesia Main Index

    . Feedback
  • Home PageCountry Index

    French Polynesia Government - 2005

      Country name:
      conventional long form: Overseas Lands of French Polynesia
      conventional short form: French Polynesia
      local long form: Pays d'outre-mer de la Polynesie Francaise
      local short form: Polynesie Francaise
      former: French Colony of Oceania

      Dependency status:
      overseas lands of France; overseas territory of France from 1946-2004

      Government type:


      Administrative divisions:
      none (overseas lands of France); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 5 archipelagic divisions named Archipel des Marquises, Archipel des Tuamotu, Archipel des Tubuai, Iles du Vent, and Iles Sous-le-Vent
      note: Clipperton Island is administered by France from French Polynesia

      none (overseas lands of France)

      National holiday:
      Bastille Day, 14 July (1789)

      28 September 1958 (French Constitution)

      Legal system:
      based on French system

      18 years of age; universal

      Executive branch:
      chief of state: President Jacques CHIRAC of France (since 17 May 1995), represented by High Commissioner of the Republic Michel MATHIEU (since 24 October 2001); note - Michel MATHIER leaves 30 July 2005, replaced by Jacques MICHAUT (acting high commissioner), until the arrival of Anne BOQUET in early September 2005
      head of government: President of the Territorial Government of French Polynesia Oscar TEMARU (since 3 March 2005); President of the Territorial Assembly Antony GEROS (since 9 May 2004)
      cabinet: Council of Ministers; president submits a list of members of the Territorial Assembly for approval by them to serve as ministers
      elections: French president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; high commissioner appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of Interior; president of the Territorial Government and the president of the Territorial Assembly are elected by the members of the assembly

      Legislative branch:
      unicameral Territorial Assembly or Assemblee Territoriale (57 seats - changed from 49 seats for May 2004 election; members are elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
      elections: last held 23 May 2004 (next to be held May 2009)
      election results: percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - People's Rally for the Republic (Gaullist) 28, Union for Democracy 27, New Star 1, This Country is Yours 1; after by-elections of 13 February 2005 seating was as follows: People's Rally for the Republic 27, Union for Democracy 27, and Alliance for a New Democracy 3
      note: one seat was elected to the French Senate on 27 September 1998 (next to be held September 2007); results - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - NA; two seats were elected to the French National Assembly on 9 June-16 June 2002 (next to be held NA 2007); results - percent of vote by party - NA%; seats by party - UMP/RPR 1, UMP 1

      Judicial branch:
      Court of Appeal or Cour d'Appel; Court of the First Instance or Tribunal de Premiere Instance; Court of Administrative Law or Tribunal Administratif

      Political parties and leaders:
      Independent Front for the Liberation of Polynesia (Tavini Huiraatira) [Oscar TEMARU]; New Fatherland Party (Ai'a Api) [Emile VERNAUDON]; People's Rally for the Republic of Polynesia or RPR (Tahoeraa Huiraatira) [Gaston FLOSSE]; The New Star (Te Fetia Api) [Philippe SHYLE]; This Country is Yours (No Oe E Te Nunaa) [Nicle BOUTEAU]; Union for Democracy or UPD [Oscar TEMARU]

      Political pressure groups and leaders:

      International organization participation:
      FZ, ICFTU, PIF (observer), UPU, WMO

      Diplomatic representation in the US:
      none (overseas lands of France)

      Diplomatic representation from the US:
      none (overseas lands of France)

      Flag description:
      two narrow red horizontal bands encase a wide white band; centered on the white band is a disk with blue and white wave pattern on the lower half and gold and white ray pattern on the upper half; a stylized red, blue and white ship rides on the wave pattern; the French flag is used for official occasions

      NOTE: The information regarding French Polynesia on this page is re-published from the 2005 World Fact Book of the United States Central Intelligence Agency. No claims are made regarding the accuracy of French Polynesia Government 2005 information contained here. All suggestions for corrections of any errors about French Polynesia Government 2005 should be addressed to the CIA.

    Support Our Sponsor

    Support Our Sponsor

    Please ADD this page to your FAVORITES - - - - -
    Revised 16-Feb-06
    Copyright © 2021 Photius Coutsoukis (all rights reserved)